Illustrations for Poetry Collection – Pencils are Almost Done!

Penciling is coming along really well now for my illustrations.  I’m going to share one illustration all the way through my process.  Well, not all the way through.  My rough sketches are VERY rough, and I don’t really like sharing those.

This particular illustration started out by being simply the flaming sword of Truth, but it didn’t seem visually interesting enough, especially as these illustrations are going to be in gray scale (washes of black ink).  So I went back and read my poem a few times and came up with the following.

Sword of Truth with SerpentsNote: this image has been darkened in Photoshop so the pencil lines show.

The three-headed serpent have bindings in the “see no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil” bent.  I roughed out some scaling on one of the serpents in order to get a sense of proportion but will add the rest with ink.

I tend to work maybe a little too heavy with my pencils, but I’ve embraced that as just being part of my process and adding to the overall completed work.

Thanksgiving is next week, so I may not get to starting to ink until the following week, but I’ll share my progress as I go!

2 thoughts on “Illustrations for Poetry Collection – Pencils are Almost Done!

Leave a Reply

