My Dream Life Schedule

Some days (most days) at my office job, I like to imagine what life would be like not being chained to a 9-5:30.  How much more time I could spend with my son (and hopefully future children) and husband.  How much more time I would have to create and share my creations with the world.  At this point, really, my husband and I have decided that any future that allows us to run our own business and raise our children ourselves would satisfy us, with at least a little time for creative work each day, and that is what we’re currently working towards.  But I wanted to share my dream life, too, if we were able to make a living solely on our creative endeavors.

Monday through Friday, we will get up with the children (currently between 6:30AM and 7:30AM with our son).  My husband will shower while I do my Morning Pages (from Cameron’s “The Artist’s Way”) in between playing with the kid(s), we’ll take turns making breakfast and checking our online shop for activity that needs to be completed.  Four days a week, every other day we’ll trade off on who gets 3.5ish hours in the afternoons and mornings to do independent work.  In the three and 1/2 hours with the kids, we’ll play, do homeschooling if that’s what we decide to do, run errands, daily chores/cleaning, and do any bits of blogging/social networking/website updating/business-y work we can in between.  Whoever has the morning kid duty would be responsible for prepping lunch and afternoon duty would be responsible for cooking/reheating dinner.  If there is nap time, that would be writing time.  During my three and 1/2 hours, I would meditate and work out for 30-60 minutes and spend the rest of the time working on the work that needs no distractions or requires loud machinery.  We would come together for lunch and dinner, take turns picking up after dinner and prepping the children for bed, then work for another several hours on writing and quiet hand-finishing work at night.  On the fifth day during the week, we will shorten our daily work time by at least an hour each and plan a family outing.  One evening per week both my husband and I would get a night off.  I would take up bellydancing and maybe pole fitness again (and forgo the workout earlier in the day) or sign up for a class.  My husband would probably join a golf and bowling league, depending on the season.  Maybe also we’d hire a babysitter and sign up for a weekly class together.  I’d love to take ballroom dance again, and we both want to eventually take cake decorating classes together.   Our weekly schedules would remain flexible though because if we were prepping for a particular show or had hard deadlines to meet, then those would take priority.

Weekends would probably involve traveling to different conventions and art shows a lot (which may eat into our weekly schedule as well) or visiting friends and family who don’t live near us, but when we’re home, we’ll have family time together, get home projects done, and probably sneak in quite a bit of work on Saturdays but try to take Sundays completely off of any “work”.  And again, this would depend on deadlines and such.

We also would be entertaining a lot more.  Both my husband and I love to cook for people.  When we had a bit more of a disposable income, we would throw dinner parties for up to ten people and themed parties (like an all-dip party where everyone brings their favorite dip or our favorite holiday National Pie Day that produces a veritable sea of pies) for up to twenty semi-regularly.  We both want to be that house that all our children’s friends want to come eat at/spend the night/hang out.  I would also like to choose one place we’ve never been each year and travel there, both domestically and internationally.  Maybe alternate between expensive and less expensive trips each year.  I think it’s important to see and explore different areas of the country at least, plus since we’ve got friends all over, it is a good excuse to visit!

So that’s the dream.  Like I said in the first paragraph, if we never QUITE get to this schedule until we retire, that’s okay as long as we gain our independence in other ways.  But this is what I daydream about.

Leave a Reply

