Progress on my Novella-in-progress

My husband read my manuscript, and we had a long discussion about it during our holiday travels.  He confirmed a couple of things my beta reader had picked up on and then expanded on those ideas.  He asked me questions, some of which I need to come up with the answers to still, and after thinking about our conversation and going over his notes, I have a rough idea of what I want to do for this story.

Firstly, I’m keeping it in the tense that it’s currently in, and I will be attempting to lift the remainder of the story to the level of polish and style that is in the first chapter.  Secondly, elements that I introduce in the first chapter will need to be reintroduced throughout the story.  I spend a lot of time building up my female protagonist and then don’t really touch it during the action of the story.  Thirdly, I need to uncover the magic and personality in one of my supporting characters.  Right now, he’s a guardian/protector for a group of other magical creatures, but beyond that role of guardian, I don’t really know who he is or what he was in the past.

We are going on a writers’ retreat this weekend (with my son, so my husband and I will be tag-teaming and maybe relying on DVDs/Netflix a little to get work done), and my hope is to completely finish the next draft by the end of the weekend.  We’ll have to see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

