Off to NYC!

Tomorrow, my husband, son, and I will be driving to NYC for a four-night trip.  A dear friend of mine from grad school is covering our travel expenses so I can come act as her assistant for a few days, and we’re squeezing in seeing many more of our friends.  While I’ve flown through JFK many times in the past several years, I have not been in NYC itself since February 2005, so we are excited.

This is our first time driving in.  We’re in Astoria for the first two nights and then in Manhattan (parking at the hotel) for the second set of nights.  I’m a tad nervous, but after successfully navigating Los Angeles for many years, we SHOULD be okay.  Traffic can’t be that much worst, right?  Only difference is, people in southern CA actually will let you in if you need to get to another lane/exit ramp.  New Yorkers, not so much.

When we first moved to California, I was amazed at the friendliness of everyone.  I know southern California gets mocked A LOT by other regions of the country, but seriously, even the homeless are friendly and (for the most part) non-threatening.  I was so accustomed to not making eye contact, of minding my own business, of not inviting attention to myself.  Just let me get from point A to point B without anyone harassing me, and I won’t harass anybody in turn.  It was truly an eye-opening experience to live in such a different culture, and it has changed me forever.

Anyway, I’m excited to see NYC with fresh eyes, to eat yummy pizza and bagels, to hopefully soak in a little art and culture, and to fill my much-depleted creative well.  I’m not sure if I’ll have time to post at all while I’m there, but if not, I’ll let you know how it went next Thursday.

2 thoughts on “Off to NYC!

Leave a Reply

