Frustration Can Either Freeze You Up or Drive You Forward

I’ve had a rather disappointing turn at my day job this week.  I was passed over for a promotion, even though it’s the job I’m currently in training for and my supervisors know I have an amazing work ethic and really need to be making more money than I currently am making.  They need someone already experienced for this particular group.  Which I get, I really do, but now i get to have “invaluable experience and training” by helping whoever they do hire to do the job.  In other words, I get to do more work for no extra pay on the slim chance that another position will open up in the next year or so.  And since I live in the good ol’ USA, and since I’ve been already trying to get another higher-paying job elsewhere since October with no luck, I’ve had to play nice and enthusiastic about my “opportunity”.

In the past, when a blow like this (to my pride, to my hopes for a better future) would happen, I often would take a “me” day or five.  I’d mope around and watch old movie musicals or escape into a novel or decide to do some random mind-numbing project like alphabetizing my books or CDs (an impossibility to maintain with a toddler, so this is an especially futile task).  But not this time.  I have channeled my frustration and my annoyance and my financial stress into action.

  • Edits for my novella are done and being mailed out to my line editor today.  I should get this back next week sometime.
  • My illustrations for my poetry collection will be done soon, even if I have to pull all-nighters to do it.
  • I will also have my cover designs sketched out and started, and I will create my self-pub checklists this weekend.  These two books WILL be done by the end of March.
  • I am tweaking my resume design tonight and applying for a job lead through my sister (could mean a fast move to another nearby city, potentially renting/buying my grandparents’ house that will soon be on the market, dealing with MY family’s stress instead of my husband’s family which will be a change not necessarily for the better, but also being settled for the next ten years or so).  My husband and I are also broadening our collective job search to include other areas of the country that we hadn’t before considered.  The goal, remember, is to find one job between the two of us that will pay the base of our bills so the other one can be home to care for our son (and future children) and promote our art/writing business.

I really feel like this was perhaps the kick in the butt I needed to power through these next couple of weeks.  After my post last week, I had this great feeling of being unstuck, and this is just a sign of that unstickiness.  I don’t know what the future holds, but that’s okay.  I’m ready to live for my action and my efforts and not for the outcome.

5 thoughts on “Frustration Can Either Freeze You Up or Drive You Forward

  1. That’s fantastic that you’ve turned things around and focused on the positive. I try to do the same. Especially when I feel the real sort of dark negativity creeping in. I just read this 7 ways of success thing yest. Here they are – I just read the article and wrote down one word for each thing: 1. Proactive. 2. Mentalize 3. First Things 1st. 4. WIN-WIN (with others). 5. Understand (and be understood) 6. Synergize. 7. Sharpen the saw (staying in shape). I know that’s a lot to put down here, but I just thought I’d share it. If the person you have to ‘train’ (and if it’s a guy, I’m even more pissed), you should practice diplomacy and try to make it a WIN-WIN situation for YOU. It’s funny, I just read this other blog yest. from a girl who talked about using diplomacy in debates. She stressed throughout the whole thing that the only only time you can dispense with diplomacy is when you KNOW you’re going to win hands down. I know it’s small potatoes coming from nowhere, but I also know that situations like that are difficult as hell sometimes. By the sound of what you’re saying I have a feeling you can meet it and make it a win-win, Good luck.

    • Thank you for the suggestions! I will definitely use them if I am still here by the time they hire the replacement. They haven’t even started interviewing yet because we’re still trying to clean up the mess left behind from the person they let go.

  2. I feel you so much on this post. The same thing has happened to me, or close anyway, where you knew you deserved to make more and had the skills but things just didn’t work out the way you wanted them to. I wish you the best!

      • That does always seem to be true. Weird how that happens and it’s always hard to have that perspective but once you get the job you really want in the place you really want to live, everything will fall into place and make sense.

Leave a Reply

