Checking In with All Things Creative

I have two blog posts queued in my brain: I’ve been nominated/tagged to answer some questions and one that’s a list of helpful tips I’ve learned in readying “Penumbra” for release.  But my brain doesn’t want to play ball right now on the whole thinking front, so I figure I would just check in with myself and all of you on my various projects and plans.

Writing“Penumbra” is finally released.  It felt like pulling teeth at times to get this out, but it is done.  It really does seem like my work has just begun, though, as I now have to try to get word of it out and about.  I’ve decided to NOT release a print version, given how short the story ended up being (less than 13,000 words), but instead I’ll save it for an eventual collection.

I’ve begun the early research/inspiration stage on several short stories.  I have a series of twelve short stories that I’d like to write and release for free over a twelve-month period, but I want to have at least four of them completed before even committing to a release date.  At the end of the year (whenever that starts), I will release the collection as both an ebook and a print copy, including an extra short story that ties them all together.  But there might be a couple of short stories that need to be written before I dive into that long-term project.

While I’m making notes on short stories and deciding what needs to be written first, I am also diving into my graphic novel project next week.  Again, I don’t want to talk to much about specifics, because this is a project that is still a couple of years from release.  I’d estimate myself at about 1/4 way through the first draft, and I just really need to power through.

Art – I have finished the inking on two of my eight illustrations for my poetry collection.  This is taking FAR longer than anticipated because of how detailed I am getting, and since I am starting a two evening per week long-term freelance project, I’m not really sure how long it will take me to complete these darn things.  But progress is being made!  Next week, I’ll post pictures of my almost finished (except for white highlights) “Sword of Truth” illustration.

I’m very excited about my next couple of long-term art projects that I’ll be making and releasing under the Kat Micari name.  Not looking forward to setting up an Etsy and DeviantArt account, just because it’s one more thing to worry about maintaining, but that is the price for being an independent business-minded creator.

I have been woefully remiss in my daily sketching, however.  I need to make this a habit.  Something to work towards still.

Music – I have played music all but one day in the past week, for at least twenty minutes each time!  I am already calling it my “Sacred Time”.  I am, quite frankly, impressed by the tone I am able to draw out of my flute after all this time has passed.  My son occasionally sings along while I play, which is adorable.  My fingers are a little stiff this week because of the constantly shifting temperatures and weather, but my piano playing and singing is progressing along as well.  I’m looking forward to really focusing in on my own music starting next week.

 

5 thoughts on “Checking In with All Things Creative

  1. Gosh, you are a busy lady! Your illustrations sound brilliant and I can’t wait to see some of them. I can’t draw for toffee, I think I am the only person in the world that can make a stick man look bad! Good luck with it all. 🙂

    • I like keeping busy! Seriously, all of my projects feed into one another, and I like that if I get stuck on a story idea, I can go make something with my hands and let my subconscious solve the story problem for me. 😉

      My normal mode of operation, though, is to work and work and work and work, get burnt out, rest for a while, then repeat. It may not be the healthiest option over the long run, but it’s worked for me thus far in life.

Leave a Reply

