Why I Love Being Indie…

I have started a short story that I plan on releasing for free.  It has a compelling character, a strong first line, and an interesting premise.  But I have NO IDEA if this story will lean towards horror or romance or a classical fairy tale.  And that’s great!  I can allow the story to progress how it wants to.

As an indie author, I don’t have to stress about fitting my stories into a particular mold.  While I care about the marketability of my work, I don’t need to worry about it up front.  I don’t have other people telling me that what I’m writing isn’t selling this year so I need to “tweak” it to be something it was never meant to be.  There is glorious freedom.

I mustn’t let that freedom go to my head, though.

Leave a Reply

