The Road Trip

I haven’t been present as much online lately, mostly because my time at my day job has been spent prepping my manual and beginning to train a couple of different people with my various duties.  It is unknown as of yet if they will hire a replacement in time for me to train so we’re covering all bases.  Two weeks from tomorrow is my last day!  My nights have been spent doing freelance work, product mockups, or packing.  Not a whole lot of time to spend online.

And in a few hours, I will be COMPLETELY out of contact for a couple of days.  We are getting in the car and headed for southern PA.  My older brother is getting commissioned in the Methodist Church after getting his second masters in divinity.  I’m so proud of him and his family for supporting him in fulfilling this dream.  Unfortunately, his area is SO rural that you can only get cell phone signal at the bottom of his driveway and no internet or cable.  It will be good to see family though.  I miss my nieces and nephew tons.  While we are in the area, we will also be going to Gettysburg. I am very excited to visit the area as I’ve never been.  Hopefully I can get some good pictures and do up a nice post Sunday or Monday.

But the reason for this post is to tell you that I actually really love a road trip.  I like seeing the scenery change around us.  I like singing along with music.  I like having prolonged conversations with my husband with little distraction.  I generally navigate while my husband drives (so stereotypical) but am happy to take over when he needs me to.  And I usually bring knitting or crocheting to keep my hands busy, or a notebook and my husband and I scheme and dream up new ideas.  My toddler fortunately enjoys road trips too, and I like having the excuse to stop more frequently or for longer than a bathroom break to let him stretch his legs and get some pent up energy out.  It encourages us to not feel like we have to rush, and it enables us to take in some of the natural beauty at rest areas and locations we drive through.

I have this odd split feelings.  I long for a permanent home-base, to create a nest to nurture and love my family and play hostess to our friends.  And yet I also long for travel and visiting new places and old friends.

How do all of you enjoy traveling?  I view flying as a necessary evil but would always opt for being in control in the car.  Is that totally an American way of viewing travel?  I don’t mean “control” in the “I can’t relinquish my fate to someone else” but in the sense of we can stop where and when we want.  I’ve traveled by train but it was not very comfortable.  I imagine if we could just travel via first class, my opinions might shift, but maybe not.

Leave a Reply

