New review of Penumbra

Jalyn Ely reviewed Penumbra here.  

I had to chuckle out loud reading the review.  She enjoyed Penumbra but was confused as to why she enjoyed it.  

“My overall feeling when I finished Penumbra was bafflement. As in, how could Kat Micari break so many of the rules and still have a good story? (In case you can’t tell, I’m still not sure what to make of it.)”

I wonder if my future works will be more straight-forward or if my writing will continue in this vein.  Is different in this case good or bad?  Who knows?  I certainly don’t.  But I’ll be true to my Voice as much as I can.

Of the three reviews I’ve gotten so far, the length of Penumbra seems to be an issue.  Each time, I ask myself if the story would have been better served by adding a B plot, or having it take place over a longer period of time, but, again, I don’t know.  I think I need to get some more of my work out there so I can get more feedback.  

Anyway, I’m pleased with the review.  

Leave a Reply

