Help for an LAX Shooting Survivor?

On Monday, I found out that I knew one of those shot last Friday at LAX from my time spent in CA.  And I was shocked.  Brian Ludmer is going to be okay.  He was shot in the calf, and the doctors are confident that he will recover over time.  But his medical expenses are going to be high, so his family has started raising money to help out.  If you are so inclined, you can donate here.  No one should have to have medical debt the size of a mortgage to recover, especially in a situation like this.  If you don’t have the funds to donate, please consider spreading the word or just taking a moment to send good thoughts his way.

I had the opportunity to work with Brian for a couple of years.  I knew him to be quiet but always smiling, incredibly hard-working, and his strength of character just shines through him.   Here’s the picture they have up on the fundraiser.

Brian Ludmer

I knew peripherally about the shooting at LAX, but I was working so many long hours this weekend that I didn’t care about looking into it more.  Once I found out that I knew someone involved, though, I started to care.  And then I felt angry and ashamed that I was so numb to begin with.  A feeling of “not again” and that was it.  We should care.  We need to care.  Not be incapacitated by our caring, but there needs to be some emotional connection.  Apathy is the easy answer, but it’s apathy, to a large extent, that allows the problems of our society to continue.  A human is a human, and life is life, and no matter where in the world lives are being destroyed, we should care.

Brian was lucky.  Others aren’t, every single day.  It’s sobering to think about.

Leave a Reply

