Retreat Wrap Up

I am home from our retreat, which turned out not to be quite as many days as we originally planned.  A septic tank problem meant that the water had to be shut off out at the cottage, and the local septic company only has unheated trucks with which to get down to the septic tanks, and the weather was so bitterly cold that the gears would freeze up.  So we drove through a blizzard after cleaning and packing up (and fortunately the next door neighbors allowed us the use of their bathroom and their kitchen sink) and spent a few days crashing with my husband’s aunt, who owned the cottage.  It was one of those cases where we just had to laugh and accept the inevitable.

I still managed to accomplish quite a lot!

  • I finished the first draft of The Cephalopod Maid! Hooray! Now I’m going to let it simmer for a week and then start the polishing process. The short story sets itself up nicely to go into a lengthier work, which surprised me to no end. I had meant it to be an entity in and of itself. Something to ponder though.
  • I finished up all of the gifts I had to finish.
  • I edited my husband’s story.
  • I chose my first woman for the art series but didn’t get to start the research process yet.
  • I made a tentative marketing plan for The Little Book of Insurrection or The Poetry of My Discontent.  Now I just need to figure out the specific implementation of said plan.

The unexpected time spent with family turned out to be fine.  On Friday, I wound up needing to sleep most of the day.  I don’t know if I was fighting off a bug or just worn out from the excitement of the previous few days, but I slept for hours.  And then we stayed up late talking Friday night, touching on religion and societal issues and health before scaring ourselves with firsthand stories of ghostly and psychic experiences.

Now I’m back to the grind, hustling paid work while trying to still figure out what I want to be when I grow up and pumping out the work I want to be doing, all while spending quality time with my son and trying to stay healthy and sane. I realized that I should be able to accomplish this, because I was doing fairly well with everything even while working for someone else for 40 hours a week. As long as I can stay driven and organized, why shouldn’t I attempt to have it all?

3 thoughts on “Retreat Wrap Up

  1. You are grown up!

    No heat on a septic company truck in an area with freezing weather? So no one can stay at the cottage until the weather is warm again? There is something seriously wrong with that picture…

  2. Pingback: How My 2014 Started as a Farce and Now Ends as a Farce (And a Year End Personal Review) | Kat Micari

Leave a Reply

