For Every Two Steps Forward, There’s a Step Back

My interview today wound up actually being a pre-interview, ten minutes in length, to ascertain whether or not I was still interested in working with this company. Because the person had already looked at my online portfolio, they didn’t even bother having me show them the immaculate work I had done setting up my physical portfolio. Hours of work prepping the portfolio (not to mention money I couldn’t really afford to be spending to print pictures), dressed to the nines, hair and makeup perfect, and I could have worn jeans and not stressed at all. BUT they are still interested, I got to drop off my physical resume with actual references for the head honcho, and as we were gifted with free theater tickets for tonight, I won’t have to waste time later on hair and makeup. Now I’ll probably be waiting a couple of weeks.

In the meantime, I entered into talks with another shop for freelance work that has phenomenal reviews, and hopefully that will prove fruitful. I’d rather make slightly less money guilt-free (and potentially not have to get liability insurance) than worry about being connected with a less-than-honest corporation. But still, we’re in early stages here.

I’m in a hurry up and wait period right now, and, as a creature of action, I hate waiting. But I will grin and bear it.

Excitingly, though, one of my illustrations (Tears) was included in this beautiful treasury on Etsy – Brave: Brain Storm.  It really is a deep and thoughtful collection of images.

3 thoughts on “For Every Two Steps Forward, There’s a Step Back

  1. Hi Kat,
    Congrats on the success you’re having with your illustrations!
    I’m part of a team that has recently launched a new freelancer marketplace called Seven Days. It’s focused on meritocracy and beating the feast-or-famine lifestyle that freelancers are usually faced with. We’re always looking for talented illustrators and creatives of all kinds.
    If you’re interested, or just curious, I’d be really grateful if you could have a look and give me your feedback: http://www.sevendays.co.
    Anyway have a great day!
    Vassili

Leave a Reply

