Abstract Art

This morning, while my son was painting at his easel, I began an abstract acrylic painting on canvas. I haven’t painted with acrylics for years, and the closest I’ve come to abstract work in the past decade is in the creation of collages as color/texture palettes for other design work. It felt great! When I was a wee thing, I used to love doing abstract paintings. My little sister would be painting horses and people, and I did a little bit of figures (complete with pig noses on everyone!) as well, but I always preferred to do spatter paintings or big swirling masses. This was the compliment to the very detailed drawings I did.

Anyway, I’ve been having a lot of “feels” lately, and the painting helped a lot. I’m energized, feeling better able to tap into my creative self for my writing, music, and the other work I’m actually getting paid for, and I loved getting to create alongside my son.

I’ll post a picture of the finished piece.

Leave a Reply

