Demon Eyes – a poem

Demon Eyes

“Girl, you got demon eyes,”
My ‘Auntie’ says.
And I wonder if it’s the yellow ring
Encased in steel
Or the red-rim of
Allergic frustration.

“Girl, you got demon eyes,”
My ‘Auntie’ says.
And I think it’s the
Shifting colors,
Like the sea.
Mood by mood,
Azhure to gray to green.

“Girl, you got demon eyes,”
My ‘Auntie’ says.
And I guess she must see
My ancestors of ages past.
Professional oppressors
Wreaking havoc.
Rivers of blood
Washed in blue.

“Girl, you got demon eyes,”
My ‘Auntie’ says.
And I agonize, years later,
Tossing and turning,
Lying awake at night.
Could she see my dirt?
My naked soul peeking out?
All the ugly pieces I had
Thought were buried deep?

And my demon eyes go cloudy
As I weep.

Copyright 2005, Kat Micari

Leave a Reply

