Drink n’Draw Sketch

My husband and I went to a Drink n’Draw this past Saturday for a couple of hours, meeting up with a friend of ours. This is a 30 minute sketch off of a 45 minute pose – the first time I’ve gotten to work with a live model since grad school (beyond quick sketches of my family), and it felt really good. This particular group does weekly nude figure drawing sessions for a very reasonable amount of money, so I’m going to try to get out to that whenever possible.

The model was beautiful, although the lighting was quite harsh in the bar as they had to use a clamp light almost like a spotlight. I was feeling not very good about the sketch and slightly envious of the tighter and more concise sketching styles of the other people at the table with me, but then my husband told me that he actually wished he had a looser style like mine. A case of you always want what you don’t have, I guess. Like my singing voice – I’ve always loved the raspy voice of female vocalists that either deal with vocal strain or smoke crazy amounts of cigarettes, but I’m at the complete opposite end of the spectrum personally.

I’ve decided to embrace my art style. Part of the reason I’ve got so many searching lines when I draw is because I’m really trying to capture the inner essence of whatever it is I’m drawing as well as the shape and form. That actually sounds a little creepy to me, like I’m trying to literally put a piece of the subject into my work, but really, it’s a piece of myself – what my response is after I’ve emotionally and intuitively broken down the subject (whether animate or not) in my mind and put it back together. And if that’s what excites me to create, then I may as well go along with it instead of fighting for a style that isn’t my own.

Where I could use a lot more precision is in my hands and feet. I need to spend a lot of time just drawing those body parts so I don’t stress about them.

Leave a Reply

