Inadequacy

There are times that words elude me. That an issue or topic comes up, and I feel like there is something really important that needs to be expressed, but even the emotion or thought is stuck somewhere. As though whatever it is that needs expressing is too big to come out. So I don’t express it. It sits, growing and simmering until it explodes out of me either creatively or emotionally or both. Or I chip little pieces of it off, and let it out bit by bit, and manage to avoid the explosion.

I have so much that I want to say about censorship (bad), and hypocrisy (also bad), and how our priorities as a culture are horribly skewed. I want to discuss the recent acts of violence both here in the US and abroad, and the disconnect again of thinking of other people as actual fellow humans rather than “different”. Yet I can’t. It’s all tangled up in my head and stuck in my throat. Great big knots that need to slowly be undone. Strands that need to be rolled up like yarn balls. And I don’t know how long that’s going to take.

It makes me nervous, a bit, feeling this way, because it happens rather infrequently. I hope I get unstuck soon.

4 thoughts on “Inadequacy

  1. It seems to me that you are expressing yourself very well. Your writing is strong and clear and meaningful. Even these few paragraphs gave me hope that I am not alone in my concerns.
    Bravo. Write on, you are doing well.

Leave a Reply

