A Calm Moment

I have things I should be doing right now to finish up one project and prep for a client meeting for another project tomorrow, and I don’t care. After a lovely time dozing off and on between cuddling and playing with my toddler on my bed this morning, I’m sipping my coffee and doing an Internet trawl while he plays happily by himself (first he was just walking around reciting a favorite scene from Monster’s Inc, then he played with a set of beads for a while, and now he’s studying a Spanish-English workbook… he loves his workbooks, kooky kid that he is). I know I’m going to be paying for my idleness when I’m up til 2AM tonight to prep for that meeting, but it’s okay.

Sometimes I worry about our lack of a set schedule. There’s a part of me that feels like I’m cheating the system somehow, by keeping such odd hours. Or that if we decide to do preschool next year rather than homeschooling, maybe we should be getting more on a regular schedule now to get used to it. Also, I feel like I lack discipline sometimes, like if I really wanted more writing or art time, I’d be getting out of bed at 5:30AM for an uninterrupted stretch of solitude, despite not going to sleep until midnight or later most nights to work on my paid projects. But this morning, after working really hard to get a lot done over the past two weeks, and knowing I have about a week and half still until I can take a whole day off, I’m just enjoying myself guilt-free for a change. It actually feels really good.

For you creators of all types, how do you balance your work time with your relaxation time and family time? How much sleep do you get? A friend of mine posted this graph from This Is Colossal of the daily routines of famous creative people, and firstly, I am amazed to see how much sleep they all actually got, and secondly, how much leisure time they had.

I feel like with the bulk of creatives today holding down outside jobs or running a household/raising children full or part time, this kind of schedule is really difficult to achieve. I also would be interested to see what these famous peoples’ schedules looked like before they were famous. And I also would have liked to see some females on the list, but maybe they didn’t have the information for them. Regardless, what are your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

