“There are no happy endings because nothing ends.”

lastunicorn-10

My second favorite movie growing up was The Last Unicorn. My father had this huge collection of CED movies, and this was one that got played a lot along with my top favorite movie The Wizard of Oz. When I was older, the book by Peter S. Beagle that the movie was based on became one that I read over and over again. The Last Unicorn is rather dated (can we say soundtrack by America?), but there are wonderful, beautifully-written life lessons liberally sprinkled through the entire story. Obviously I most felt akin to the Unicorn/Amalthea as a little girl, but the wry humor and truth in Schmendrick’s dialogue always appealed to me and that is who I took the quote in the title from.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the works that influenced me very early in my life, and I’ve been wondering why some stories pulled me in more than others and remain with me even decades later. Do we build our foundation of our own truths from the myths and fairy tales we’re most drawn to, or is the groundwork already inherent within us so we find the stories that we most need along our way? I don’t know, but it’s interesting to consider.

Leave a Reply

