I Didn’t See the Ocean Today – a poem

009

I didn’t see the ocean today
Didn’t hear its roar
Didn’t taste its salt coating my lips
Didn’t feel the wet sand between my toes

I didn’t dance on its shores
Didn’t meditate at its edge
Didn’t sing with the gulls
Didn’t race the wind

I didn’t see the ocean today.
What a waste.

Copyright 2008, Kat Micari

I post this older poem on a cold, blustery day here in the northeast, where I begin to doubt I’ll ever see the thaw come. When I wrote the piece, I was in my last semester of grad school, buried in work, and even though we lived a mere three blocks from the ocean, I hadn’t been able to see it more than briefly from the car or city bus for months. The poem was a reminder to myself to reconnect with nature whenever possible, something that I still have a difficult time keeping in mind. Well, I’m better than I used to be, which is at least a small consolation.

And yes, there is quite a bit of trash and debris in that photo. Most people chose not to  swim in the waters near where I lived as it was too close to the harbor and off-shore oil refineries, but there was an awesome biking/walking trail and a huge expanse of sand that was cleaner the further you got from the actual shore.

Leave a Reply

