Overthinking the First Draft

Oh look, a writing post for the first time in eons. Isn’t this a surprise?

Well, my draft for my graphic novel is crawling along, and I’m finally approaching the final climax. I skipped ahead today to write out an epilogue I’ve been going back and forth on in my head. It is kind of a “what a twist” ending, which I’m not really sure that I want, and it takes the story down a much more cynical and dark path than it was on, and it was already fairly dark to begin with.

Aside from only having, when I’m lucky, about 30 minutes a day to write fiction or poetry, I also have a tendency to have to force myself to step back from the story and just let things come out. But it’s difficult for me. It’s not that I’m self-editing myself but that my brain is truly crafting sentences and phrases as they come. I can’t just “get it down and fix it later”. Which slows my productivity, but it gives me a first draft that is probably like some authors’ fourth or fifth, as far as edits and typos go. So maybe it balances out? I don’t know.

Again, it’s one of those situations where I think each writer has to find what works best for them. As long as you are moving forward in some way, even if it feels like crawling, eventually you will have a finished manuscript. And maybe it needs only two rounds of editing before publishing and maybe it needs twenty. And maybe you finished it in a month or maybe it takes you ten years. The important thing is that you have something to say, and eventually you say it in the best way that you can.

But then again, I’m probably overthinking all of that, too.

4 thoughts on “Overthinking the First Draft

  1. You seem really close to finishing the first draft. That’s exciting! I’m also attempting to write a graphic novel script but I’m way at the beginning so I have a lot of work ahead of me XD. Your story sounds interesting! Please keep me posted 🙂

    • I will! I am close to finishing, but it’s actually a project I got the idea for way back in 2008, so it’s taken me a really long time to get this far. And I know even once I’m finished with my edits, it will be at least a year until my artist has enough pages ready to start releasing them, if we decide to go with a webcomic format, and even longer if we wait to just do a print run. Everything takes time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

