It… Is… Finished…

The first draft of my graphic novel is done! Only 3 months (::cough:: 4 years ::cough cough::) later than I wanted it to be. But that’s okay. Life is a twisted, winding road, and there is nothing that I can do about that.

I finished Saturday and will be taking a week and 1/2 off to edit something for a friend and give myself some space from the project, then I’ll tackle the rewrites. After that, it passes over to my husband’s hands for editing, then back to me, then it’ll be another year or two before we even start releasing it probably. I still haven’t decided if I want to go the webcomic route or not. We’ll see.

There is always such a feeling of accomplishment when a draft is finished, but at the same time, I always get this huge backlash of self-doubt leading up to the completion of a project, which then spills over into other areas of both my creative and personal life. Fortunately, I find that I finally have the tools to deal with the insecurities as they arise rather than allowing them to linger for any length of time, so that’s a good thing.

I figure that I’ll be able to begin working on my novel in May, which is already half written (requiring major editing), so my goal of releasing a first novel by the end of the year is doable, maybe. It’s the goal, anyway. We’ll see what happens. Chances are, I’ll be moving sometime during the summer months (within the same city), so that will definitely throw my creative schedule off for a while.

6 thoughts on “It… Is… Finished…

  1. I like the way you used the ellipsis in your title, it captures your mood 🙂
    Congratulations! I hope time away from the manuscript will do you good and you return refreshed. All the best.

Leave a Reply

