A Brief New England Adventure

Winter Island, Salem, MA Copyright 2015 Kat Micari

             Winter Island, Salem, MA
            Copyright 2015 Kat Micari

I took some time off finally, and we decided to take a little trip to the Massachusetts coast. My heart was aching to see the ocean, and so off we went. I planned our route, opting to add an hour on our journey to MA by going through Vermont and New Hampshire, and that turned out to be faster than our supposedly shorter route home along the Mass Turnpike thanks to traffic that reminded us of being stuck on the freeways of California. But that is how a road trip goes.

My son travels exceptionally well, loving to watch the scenery go by and read road signs, loving exploring as much as we do, so we count ourselves really lucky on that front. It is vastly different to travel with a young child than with a baby. More difficult in some ways, because at least a baby and young toddler can be pushed around in a stroller and you can still set a normal pace. A baby is more likely to just fall asleep when exhausted too. Things we’ll definitely keep in mind for our next trip.

But I got to see the ocean for a couple of days, which was glorious, and we spent a day in Boston and saw some old friends. I was able to take my mind off of all of my projects for half the time (I cheated and responded briefly to work email and did some initial research for my next project a couple of the days and my husband scolded me soundly). And I was able to get quality family time in, which we needed.

Leave a Reply

