“The Water is My Daughter, I Skip Like a Stone…”

This song has been in my mind lately, all while driving to the ocean and since. It’s fitting, because this Bette Midler album was one my mom, sister, and I would play and sing along to when we did road trips growing up.

I love the lyrics. “My body’s at home, but my heart’s in the wind” describes how I am a good percentage of the time. A space cadet, always able to cross into the realms of the subconscious. It took a long time, maybe not even until I had my son, to really be able to be fully present and in the moment with frequency. And the way the sea and any body of water has always felt like coming home… I don’t know. The song just speaks to me.

And for those music purists out there, I know Tom Waits did the original. His was not the one I grew up on, but it is beautiful too. Here is a link to that version.

5 thoughts on ““The Water is My Daughter, I Skip Like a Stone…”

Leave a Reply

