Jealousy – a poem

I feel the beast of jealousy

Rise up whenever

I am reminded

That there are others who

Have known you longer

Than I.

It is maddeningly strange,

This sudden flaring

Of emotion

That makes me want

To weep.

Because, truth be told,

I would swap minds with you

If I could,

For only a day

And learn the

Length and breadth of you

In one fell swoop,

Experience the movie

Of your history

And all its pains and triumphs

So that I could better

Share with you

Your future.

Copyright 2016, Kat Micari

Leave a Reply

