Lose the Fear

I’ve started my first big project at work since coming back from my maternity leave, and I’m in the sketching phase now and very quickly have to finalize ideas (by next Tuesday). And normally during this phase, I get a little anxious about communicating my ideas clearly via my artwork or committing too quickly to ideas that may not work as well as I want with the time and budget constraints that I deal with. But not this time. Maybe it’s an adjusted life attitude now that I’m a mom of two, maybe it’s the lack of sleep from dealing with a teething baby, maybe it’s the changes that are being made at my place of employment, but I feel really good about everything.

It doesn’t always feel this way. Even after creating a work, I’ve had doubts. Every time I’ve shared a painting or a poem, every time I upload something to try and sell on Fine Art America, I’ve felt a twinge of fear.

Creating should feel good. We shouldn’t fear the process, and we shouldn’t fear sharing the creation, but accept that it is what it is. We should move with the flow rather than fight against it as much as we possibly can because it is healthier for us as creatives to do so. The tortured artist stereotype does not have to be a reality because the truth is that we are our own torturers.

So lose the fear. Do what you can when you can, and that is more than enough.

5 thoughts on “Lose the Fear

Leave a Reply

